













- The Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) is a group of 7 nations: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Thailand.
- There are 14 main sectors of BIMSTEC along technological and economic cooperation among south Asian and southeast Asian countries along the coast of the Bay of Bengal. Some of them are Trade & Investment, Transport & Communication, Energy, Tourism, Technology, etc.
- Permanent Secretariat is in Dhaka, Bangladesh. Sri Lanka is the present chair of BIMSTEC holding position since 2018.
- Director: Han Thein Kyaw (Myanmar) | Established: 6<sup>th</sup> June 1997
- The Fourth and the last Summit was held in Kathmandu, Nepal on 30-31 August 2018.
- The 5th BIMSTEC Summit, is proposed to be held in Colombo, Sri Lanka in the first half of January 2021.

### BRICS



- BRICS is the acronym coined to associate five major emerging national economies: Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa. It was formed in 2009. In 2010 South Africa joined.
- The BRICS seeks to deepen, broaden & intensify cooperation within the grouping and among the individual countries for more sustainable, equitable and mutually beneficial development.
- 12th Summit: RUSSIA 2020 held virtually in November 2020.
- During the Sixth BRICS Summit in Fortaleza (2014) the members signed the Agreement establishing the New Development Bank (NDB).
- HQ of NDB: Shanghai, China
- President: Marcos Troyjo (Brazil)
- Founded: 15 July 2014



### Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO)

- It's a Eurasian political, economic and military organization aiming to maintain peace, security and stability in the region.
- It was created in 2001, before that it was called Shanghai Five.
- The member states also promote effective cooperation in trade, research & technology, culture, education, energy, transport, tourism, environmental protection, etc.
- 20th SCO Summit: Nov 2020 under the chairmanship of Russia.
- SCO Secretary General: VLADIMIR NOROV (Russia)
- The official languages are Russian and Chinese.







## **Commonwealth of Nations**



- The Commonwealth of Nations is a political association of 54 independent sovereign states, most of which are former colonies of the British Empire.
- The purpose of the voluntary Commonwealth is for international cooperation and to advance economics, social development, and human rights in member countries. Decisions of the various Commonwealth councils are non-binding.
- The chief institutions of the organization are the **Commonwealth Secretariat**, which focuses on intergovernmental aspects, and the **Commonwealth Foundation**, which focuses on non-governmental relations between member states.
- Queen Elizabeth II is the head of the Commonwealth and its HQ is in London, UK.
- Maldives rejoined the Commonwealth taking the count of the bloc's membership countries back to 54.



# G20 (Group of Twenty)

- The G20 is an informal group of 19 countries and the European Union, with representatives of the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank.
- The G20 focuses on a broad agenda of issues of global importance, although, issues pertaining to the global economy dominate the agenda.
- Additional items have become more important in recent years, like: Financial markets, Tax and fiscal policy, Trade, Agriculture, Employment.
- The 2020 G20 Riyadh (Saudi Arabia) summit was held virtually.
- The G20 does not have a permanent secretariat or Headquarters.
- Giuseppe Conte (PM of Italy) hold the chairmanship since Dec'20.











- The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) was established with the signing of the SAARC Charter in Dhaka on 8 December 1985.
- SAARC comprises of eight member States: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka.
- The objectives of SAARC include promoting the welfare, accelerate economic growth, and promote and strengthen collective self-reliance among the countries of South Asia.
- The HQ is in Kathmandu, Nepal & the Secretary General: Esala Ruwan Weerakoon of Sri Lanka.
- The 19th SAARC summit was a scheduled diplomatic conference, which was originally planned to be held in Islamabad, Pakistan on 15–19 November 2016 but got cancelled after an attack on Indian army camp in Uri.

# **IBSA Dialogue Forum**

- The IBSA Dialogue Forum (India, Brazil, South Africa) is an international tripartite grouping for promoting international cooperation among these countries.
- Established in June 2003, IBSA is a coordinating mechanism amongst three emerging countries, having the objective of:
- 1. Contribute to the construction of a new international architecture.
- 2. Bring their voice together on global issues.
- 3. Deepen their ties in various areas.



• The last IBSA was held in September 27th, 2018, in New York.



#### Quadrilateral Security Dialogue (QUAD)

- The Quadrilateral Security Dialogue is an informal strategic forum between the United States, Japan, Australia and India.
- The forum is that is maintained by semi-regular summits, information exchanges and military drills between member countries.
- In 2020 Australia joined the Malabar exercise after invite from India making it the first time all members of the Quad will be engaged militarily after a decade.
- Engaging with Quad may serve two geo-strategic goals of India viz. countering China's aggressive on border with India's assertive in the maritime domain and emerge as a net security provider in the region.



#### Assignment!



- Name the member countries of ASEAN, it's HQ and Secretary General.
- Name the member countries of G7 group.
- Who is the secretary general of UN?

## Thanks a lot for watching! 「白

Like

Share Subscribe







knowvationindia@gmail.com





twitter.com/knowvation1

